About us


There are five independent countries in the horn of Africa and Ethiopia is one of those countries located in the horn of Africa. The country is divided into 14 regions among which the Afar national State is one. “Samara” is the regional capital city of this state. The state comprises of a population size of around 1.5 million people. The Afar national Regional state is known for its unique tourist attraction areas some of which are globally recognized such are the Erta ale active volcano, Lucy, Dallol Depression and many others.

Samara University is a newly established pioneer academic institution located in Ethiopia specifically situated at “Samara” town which is the regional capital of the Afar National Regional State.

The region is endowed with considerable amount of natural resources which are totally unavailable or rarely available in other parts of the country and even in any part of the world. The University is located with a distance of 1.5kms farther from the Ethio-Djibouti international high-way that connects Ethiopia with Djibouti. Samara University is the only university in the world that is situated in the same town with LUCY (the oldest human being) having a distance of 1.5 kms in between them. Moreover, it is the only university surrounded by reach and untapped natural resources and considerable amount of tourist attraction sites which have greater hope and possibility of growth to the region and to the country in general. Geothermal energy, Accumulation of potash and gold, the Awash National park, the fossils of Lucy, the fossils of kadaba, the Dallol Depression, the Erta ale active volcano, the Afdera Salt production site, Barahle salt production site and many others are some of the unique natural resources and tourist attraction sites found around samara university.

afar region

Afarland is geographically located on the coastal area of the Red Sea on the Northern part of the East African side of the Great Rift Valley. It spans the contemporary states of Ethiopia, Djibouti and Eritrea.

In Djibouti, Afar people live in both the Northern and Western Regions, which make up about 87% of 23,200 sq km (8,950 sq miles) of the country. Their regions are known as District of Tadjourah, District of Dekhil and District of Obock. Afar people also live in the city of Djibouti with other ethnic groups. In 1977, the Afars constituted about 60% in the country. The present government claims that the Afars are 40% of the population of 600,000, and they represent 45% at the National Assembly.

In Eritrea, the Afars live in the Southern Region, which is known as Dankalia. In 1996, Eritrea was restructured into six semi-autonomous zones or regions. Thus, the Afar region in Eritrea was divided into two zones. They are Southern Red Sea and Northern Red Sea Zones. Southern Red Sea Zone’s head administration offices are based in Assab, Bailul, Thii’o, and Northern Red Sea Zone’s head offices at Hirgigo, Massawa, Zula, Mersa Fatma, Nefasit, Ghinda and Nacfa. The Northern Red Sea Zone has a large population of people of many different ethnic groups. About 800km of the 2,234 km Red Sea Coastline of the State of Eritrea is Afar region. In Eritrea the Afars constitute 4% of the country.

In Ethiopia, the Afar people inhabit on the Northeastern part of the country. Their region is currently known as The Afar National Regional State. It is administratively divided into 5 Zones and 31 Weredas (constituencies), 28 Towns and 324 Peasant Associations. The Afar Triangle includes the lowest point in Africa, Lake Asal (155 metres {500 ft}). The climate varies from warm 25 °C (77 °F) during the rainy season (September-March) to extremely hot 48- 50 °C (118°F) during the dry season (March-September)


The Ancient Egyptian Pharaohs called the Afar country as a land of gods, Punt, and a land of Genesis, a land of nonsense by Parisian, a land of remote and death by British, a region of Birthplace of Humankind” (WIC- 2003). It is also geographically known as the Afar Triangle, Afar Danakil Depression or Afar Desert.